The Church of St. George is humble church, although it has all the opulence and beauty of any Orthodox church. it had been part of a monastery before it welcomed the Orthodox Patriarchate. It houses the worldwide headquarters of the Greek Orthodox Church. The Orthodox Patriarchate today is recognized as the “first among equals” of all Orthodox spiritual leaders. Over the centuries, it has been damaged, the last time during the fire in 1941. Repairs began in 1989 and were completed in 1991.
Among many relics in the church are the bodies of St. Omonia, St. Theophano and St. Euphemia, the Patriarchal Throne from late Byzantine period, although some claim it was original throne of St. John Chrysostom who was Patriarch at 5th century and tombs of three female saints.
Greek Orthodox Patriarchate on Google Maps