In Ottoman period because of many spices were imported via Egypt, the name “Misir Carsisi” “Egyptian Bazaar” was given by the public. The Bazaar was constructed as a part of New Mosque complex and rents from the shops used for the unkeeping of the mosque and other buildings. The building construction completed in 1663 and has an “L” shape. The main entrance of the Bazaar facing the “Yeni Camii” is on the southeast corner. Once all of the shops in the bazaar used to sell spices, but over the time some have turned into jewelers, dried fruit, grocery, carpet, ceramic, trinket shops. Around the Bazaar there is a popular flower market and cafes on the Yeni camii side; fish, vegetable and grocery stores occupy the other side. Spice Bazaar is one the most attractive site in Istanbul.
Spice Bazaar on Google Maps