The building has three main sections : Entrance hall or Nartex, the main body of the church or Naos and side chapel or Parecclesion. There are two nartexes outer and inner nartex. Outer nartex is the first transverse corridor, from south open to the parecclesion. At that part scenes from Joseph’s dream to Jesus entering to Jerusalem for Passover and Jesus miracles are depicted. On the inner nartex on three north vaults the scenes from rejection of Joachim’s offerings by Zacharias to Joseph reproaching the Virgin Mary scenes are depicted. These scenes are taken from Gospel of Saint James, better known as the Protoevangelium. On the south part of inner nartex miracle of Jesus are depicted. In the two domes of the same nartex Jesus ancestries are depicted. On the main nave there are only mosaic : The dormition of the Virgin Mary, Jesus with a book in hand and baby Jesus with Virgin Mary. On the parecclesion part Anastasia, last Judgement and other prophets frescos can be seen.
The churh was converted into a mosque by Atik Ali Pasa in 1510. The church bell tower, constructed in the southwest corner of the building replaced by the present minaret. In mosque period due to the prohibition of iconic images in Islam, the mosaics and frescos covered with plaster or paint but never obliterated. But in time many of the mosaics was shaken down by earthquakes.
The building between 1948 and 1958 restored by Byzantine Institute of America and open to visitors as Kariye Museum.
Chora Museum on Google Maps