- Istanbul Tours
- Turkey Tours
- Contact Us
Edirne was founded as Hadrianopolis by Roman Emperor Hadrian and made it the capital of the Roman province of Trace. In 1363 the city was conquered by Murad I. and renamed Edirne. From 1363 to 1453, Edirne became the capital city of the Ottoman State. Edirne is famed for its many mosques, domes, minarets, and palaces from the Ottoman period. Selimiye Mosque and its Social Complex in Edirne, was added to UNESCO World Heritage list in 2011.
Visiting: Selimiye Mosque, Uc Serefeli Mosque, Muradiye Mosque and Complex, Beyazid Mosque and Complex, Grand Bazaar
Tour includes: Transportation, parkings, highway and bridge fees, accomodation at agreed stars, breakfast, lunch, dinner, museum entrances.
Tour not includes : Beverages, tips and personal expenditures.
The Selimiye Mosque was constructed during reign of Selim II between 1569-1575, by architect Mimar Sinan. Sinan accept Selimiye his masterpiece and is one of the highest achievements of islamic architecture. In this mosque Sinan employed an octagonal supporting system that is created through eight pillars incised in a square shell of walls, topped with a dome of 31.25m diameter and sorrounded by four minarets. The mosque sorrounded by a hospital, kitchen, library, madrasa, dar’ul hadis (study of prophet saying and practices), time keeper room, an arasta ( a shopping complex sells same kinf of products) and a cemetery.
The Üç Şerefeli Mosque means mosque with three mineret, the mosque gets its name from unusual mineret with three balconies. It was constructed by Sultan Murat II between 1438 and 1447 and located in the heart of historical city center, close to Selimiye Mosque. The mosque main dome is 24 m in diameter. When the mosque was built, the dome was the largest in any Ottoman building. Architecturally the mosque style is between early Ottoman and classical period style. The mosque was severely damaged by fire in 1732 and by an earthquake in 1748 but was repaired on the order of Mahmut I. Blue and turquoise tile panels in the tympana of the windows look like Yesil Mosque in Bursa.
The Muradiye Mosque is constructed during reign of Murat II. in 1435-36. The mosque is noted for the tiles that decorate the mihrab and the walls of the prayer hall. The mosque originally was part of Mevlevi dervish complex but was later converted into a mosque. The mosque has a T-shaped plan with a five bay portico and an entrance hall with a domed room on either side. The prayer hall is separated from the entrance hall by a solid arch. The building has been heavily repaired after suffering earthquake damage. The mosque was sorrounded by a soup kitchen and elementary school but these buildings have not survived.
Bayezid Mosque Complex was constructed during reign of Beyazit II in 1448. The complex contains a mosque, medicine school, hospital, tabhane (guest and resting place), turkish bath, primary school, library, cistern, kitchen and stores. The hospital remained in operation for four centuries from 1488 until the Russian-Turkish war in 1877-78. The hospital was especially notable for its treatment methods for mental disorders. Among the treatment methods music, water sounds and scents was used to cure patients. The hospital was converted into a “Health Museum” in 1997. It is unique in Turkey in its field and provides very valuable information to visitors on the development of medicine and of medical services throughout history. The museum was awarded the European Counsil’s museum award in 2004.
Grand Bazaar was constructed in Edirne by Semiz Ali pasa to bring income for expenditures of buildings belong to by Semiz Ali pasa in Babaeski. The building is 300 meters long, tipical arasta bazaar (a shopping complex sells same kind of products). The bazaar is covered with barrel vault and vault arches. Inside bazaar there are about 100-110 rooms and arranged in the rows. Including historical wooden shops outside bazaar the number of bazaar reach 300 shops. Both side of bazaar exist tower and fish market doors. In the middle of bazaar exist a dua (pray) place. After a fire it was restored by Turkish Republic, Directorate General of Foundations.